Have You Heard About the Town That Forces Parents to Pay a Fine if Their Child is a Bully? What Are Your Options in NJ?
 
Bergen County news
 

Following heavy media coverage surrounding multiple student suicides back in 2010/2011, the New Jersey Legislature passed the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Act, with nearly unanimous support in both houses. The New Jersey Department of Education has also been proactive in the establishment of a strong statutory, regulatory, policy and program framework to support the prevention, remediation and reporting of harassment, intimidation & bullying in New Jersey schools.

Despite the ongoing efforts of schools, government and communities to address the prevalence and impact of bullying on children of all ages, the problem remains a serious threat that is of great concern to most parents. One Wisconsin town has taken a different approach to trying to eliminate bullying in schools. Shawano, Wisconsin is holding parents accountable if their child is involved in bullying. The city council recently passed an ordinance allowing police to intervene when aggression happens. The law applies to anyone under the age of 18 and covers various forms of harassment, ranging from taking lunch money to cyberbullying on social media. Officials in Shawano explain that parents will be warned after the first incident, but if the child’s behavior doesn’t change within 90 days, they’ll receive a $366.00 fine. A repeat offender will be slapped with a $681.00 fine.

Resources for NJ Parents